Sunday, 29 March, 2009 - 21:30


Seven years ago, Jazz Terrassa established an award within the context of the Festival to recognise a musician for their career and contribution to disseminating jazz. Soloists such as drummer Peer Wyboris, saxophonist and flautist Jorge Pardo, trumpeter Josep M. Farràs, saxophonist Johnny Griffin, pianist Tete Montoliu and trumpeter Ricard Gili have been honoured by the organization over the years; jazzmen from home and abroad who have starred in the closing concert of the Festival and received this tribute in the shape of a bronze piece by local sculptor Sílvia Segura, with the exception of Tete Montoliu who was awarded his posthumously. This year, the award is being given to a Catalan jazzman, a musician who perfectly embodies the spirit and the objective of this recognition. Adrià Font is the next Jazzterrassman. Born in Terrassa in 1945, Adrià is a living symbol of Terrassa jazz. A founding member of Jazz Terrassa, he is today one of the most visible leaders of the local jazz movement, responsible for the street activities of the Festival and a guiding light for his numerous colleagues. As this year coincides with the fiftieth anniversary of the club’s foundation, his selection is hardly surprising. A disciple of Art Blakey and an admirer of Elvin Jones, who Font describes thus: “Elvin was like something from another musical dimension – complex, groundbreaking; it was as if the drums were more than just a set of percussion instruments, they were like an extension of the expression of utter joy on his face” (“El somni té vida”, from the book 25 Jazz Terrassa. Festivals 1982–2006). His career started back in the Sixties with groups such as the Blue Angels, Modern Jazz Quintet and Jazz Om. Legendary Catalan jazz bands such as Quintet d’Egara and the Jai Jazz Banda are also on his curriculum. He currently plays in Benjamín León’s trio, the Terrassa Dixie Sextet, JazzSpirit, Kailash: bands, musicians and travelling companions who will be accompanying him at the closing concert of this year’s Festival.